INR 115,639




1,098 Square Kilometers km²



Hindi Name

मदनपुर रामपुर

Last Updated

21st Nov, 2017

Present Head

Rajasaheb SAMARENDRA PRATAP SINGH DEO, present Rajasaheb of Madanpur-Rampur, married Rajkumari Minakshi Devi, daughter of Raja Saheb Kadamba Keshri Chandra Deo of Bonai, and his wife, Rani Saheba Geeta Kumari Devi.
Back to top


The Madanpur-Rampur Kashyapa Gotta Naga Dynasty hails from Chhotanagpur of Bihar at present Jharkhand. In the year circa 1060 A.D. Raja Raj Deva of Kalinganagara had invited the Naga princes to oust the Somavamsis from Kalinga whose capital was at Suvarnapura and at the same time the Maha Mantri of Chakrakota had also requested to oust Madhurantaka from Chakrakota. Hence Madhurantaka was killed in the year 1068 A.D. and the Somas were defeated by the Nagas Gang as combined force. Thus Bastar-Chakrakota was captured by the Nagas of Madanpur-Rampur and the 1st Maharaja Biswanath Said Deo coronated his younger brother Biswambarnath Said Deo as King of Chakrakota whose son was Someswaradeva and Biswanath Sai Deo was declared as King of Karunda whose capital was Madanpur. Thus Madanpur had controlled over Karunda-Chakrakota from 1068-1098A.D.

Madanpur which was became Madanpur Rampur remained as a powerful kingdom till 1875 A.D. That is till the defeat of the last Maharaja of Karunda Maharaja Hair Har Prasad Singh Deo by the British in the year 1875 A.D. Then after his younger brother ascended the golden throne of Karunda, but the name Karunda was deleted by the British and named as Madanpur-Rampur.

Later in the year 1918 A.D. Madanpur-Rampur was declared a zamindari for British empire's safety and security because there was a fear of war with the British.

Back to top


Madanpur-Rampur State was declared a Zamindari in 1918. Estate holders were...
  • Rajasaheb HARIHAR SINGH DEO, 25th Rajasaheb of Madanpur-Rampur 1857/1875, married and had issue. He died .
  • Rajasaheb CHANDRAMONI SINGH DEO, 26th Rajasaheb of Madanpur-Rampur 1875/1900, married and had issue. He died .
    • Rajasaheb Sri Sri Durga Madhab Prasad Singh Deo (qv)
    • Kumari (name unknown), married Lalsaheb Haribansa Singh Deo, Muafidar of Jharsuguda, a descendant of the Raja's of Sambalpur.
  • Sri Sri Rajasaheb DURGA MADHAB PRASAD SINGH DEO, 27th Rajasaheb of Madanpur-Rampur 1900/1952, born , educated at Rajkumar College, Raipur; married Rani Rajmani Priya Devi, third daughter of Babu Sri Maheshwar Singh Deo, Pirpatidar of Icha, and had issue, eight sons and one daughter. He died
    • Rajasaheb Goura Chandra Singh Deo (qv)
    • Kumar Jogesh Chandra Singh Deo, M.L.A. (Orissa) 1952/1957; married Smt. Kumari Abantika Devi, and had issue, two sons and two daughters. He died .
    • Kumar Sarat Chandra Singh Deo I.A., born , Sarapanch Madanpur. Rampur Gram Panchyat 1956/1965; Chairman Madanpur Rampur Panchyat Samit 1966/1973; President Co-operative Society 1956/1960; President Netaji Jubak Sangha 1961/1965; Member Dist. Committee, State Council and General Council Swatantra Party 1966/1974; Member Bharatiya Krisham Samaj and All-India Kshyatriya Mahasabha; M.L.A. (Orissa) 1974/1975; married Kumari Kamala Devi, and had issue, two sons and two daughters. He died .
  • Rajasaheb GOURA CHANDRA SINGH DEO, 28th Rajasaheb of Madanpur-Rampur 1952/-, born in Madanpur-Rampur, educated at Ravenshaw College, Cuttack (Graduate); married Rani Rupa Manjari Devi, daughter of Shri Bidya Sundar Singh Deo of Icha, and had issue.
    • Rajasaheb Samarendra Pratap Singh Deo (qv)
    • Rajkumari Jayashree Devi
    • Rajkumari Bijayashree Devi
    • Rajkumar Budhendra Pratap Singh Deo
    • Rajkumar Mihirendra Pratap Singh Deo
    • Rajkumar Hirendra Pratap Singh Deo
  • Rajasaheb SAMARENDRA PRATAP SINGH DEO, 29th Rajasaheb of Madanpur-Rampur (see above)
  • Kumar Prithviraj Singh Deo, married Kumari Sanjukta Devi, daughter of Lal Saheb Dhurandhar Singh Deo of Khariar, and his wife, Lal Saheba Shashikala Devi.
  • Kumar Madan Mohan Singh Deo, married and had issue.
    • Kumar Kiran Chandra Singh Deo I.Com., born , M.L.A. (Orissa) 1990/1995; Minister of State, Works (2.1.1991) - (4.1.1993); Minister of State, Housing (2.1.1991) - (4.1.1993); Minister of State, Urban Developement (2.1.1991) - (4.1.1993); Minister of State (Ind), Home (Jail) (4.1.1993) - (15.3.1995); Minister of State, Works (12.1.1993) - (15.3.1995); Freedom fighter, he joined the Students' Movement in 1946 against feudal forces; Chairman, Madanpur Rampur Panchayat Samiti; President, Bhawanipatna C.L.D.B. and Director of State Land Development Bank; interests and pastimes include Party organisation and farming; married Kumari Sushila Devi, and has issue, three sons and two daughters.
Back to top


Back to top


Back to top

Edit page contents

Edit Info Add Pictures Add Contact Add article