Raj Gond


Madhya Pradesh


Chhattisgarh States Agency


1st January 1948


3,849 Square Kilometers km²


128,943 (1892)

Privy Purse

INR 172,600

Hindi Name


Last Updated

28th Jul, 2017

Present Head

Raja Bahadur VISHAL BAHADUR SINGH, 6th and present Raja Sahib of Raigarh (Moti Mahal, Raigarh, Madhya Pradesh - 496001, India).
Back to top


Predecessor state was founded before 1625, later Rajgarh became a Princely State in 1911. Estate holders and rulers were....
  • Thakur DARYAO SINGH, Raja of Raigarh 1625/-; created a Raja in about 1625, by the Raja of Sambalpur.
  • ......
  • Raja JHUJHAR SINGH, Raja of Raigarh fl.1808, married and had issue.
    • Raja Deonath Singh (qv)
  • Raja DEONATH SINGH, Raja of Raigarh 1833/1862, he was granted the zamindari of Bargarh in 1833, due to the rebellion of its chief; married and had issue. He died .
    • Raja Ghanshyam Singh (qv)
  • Raja GHANSHYAM SINGH, Raja of Raigarh 1863/1890 and Zamindar of Bargarh, born , he was removed from the administration of the estate in 1885 due to mismanagement. He died .
  • Raja Bahadur BHUP DEO SINGH, Raja of Raigarh 1890/1911, born , succeeded 7th June 1890 (continued below).
  • Raja Bahadur BHUP DEO SINGH, 1st Raja of Raigarh 1911/1917, born , married and had issue.
    • Raja Bahadur Natwar Singh (qv)
    • Raja Bahadur Chakradhar Singh (qv)
  • Raja Bahadur NATWAR SINGH, 2nd Raja of Raigarh 1917/1924, born , succeeded 22nd March 1917.
  • Raja Bahadur CHAKRADHAR SINGH, 3rd Raja of Raigarh 1924/1947, born and succeeded 23rd August 1924, educated at Rajkumar College, Raipur; a famous exponent of Katthak (a type of Indian Classical dance), author of two well regarded books on music, married 1stly Maharani Dishwarimati Devi, Rani Basantmala Devi, daughter of Raja Bahadur Jawahir Singh of Sarangarh and Rani Lokeshwari Devi, and had issues.
    • Raja Bahadur Lalit Kumar Singh (from 1st wife) (qv)
    • Maharajkumar Bhanupartap Singh (from 1st wife), Ex MLA, then Cabinet Minister in MP government, Ex Municipal President, Ex Congress Mahamantri and at present is the president of Chakradhar Samaroh, Raigarh. He studied from Rajkumar College Senior Cambridge. He was a very talented student, prefect of the class and Captain of Hockey and Cricket teams. He was very good in swimming, riding, drama, etc. He got married to Rani Tejshree Devi Singh, princess of Nagpur in 1955 and has issues, one son and 3 daughters. Rani Tejshree Devi was a great poetess who had written two books ‘Rukogi Nahi Radhika’ and ‘Palko ki Dehliz’.
      • Late Rajkumar Siddharth Singh
      • Princess Jaishree Devi
      • Princess Rajshree Devi
      • Princess Vijayshree Devi
    • Rajkumari Gandharv Kumari (from 1st wife)
    • Rajkumari Satyavati (from 1st wife)
    • Maharaj Shri Surendra Kumar Singh, educated at Rajkumar College, Raipur; Mayo College, Ajmer and St. Xavier's College, Bombay, B.E. (Radio, Television Engineering); I.N.C. (Madhya Pradesh), born in Raigarh, Madhya Pradesh. Member of the Madhya Pradesh Legislative Assembly 1962/67 and 1972/90, Committee on Defence, 1996/97, Committee on Petroleum and Natural Gas and Consultative Committee for the Ministry of Planning and Programme Implementation, Science and Technology and other Science Departments 1996/97; elected to the Rajya Sabha in April, 1996. Interests include painting, music, shikar, photography, electronics and yoga. Married 27th May 1954 in Cuttack, Orissa, Rani Snehmala Devi, and has issue.
      • Rajkumari Urvashi Devi
      • Rajkumari Rajlaxmi Devi
      • Rajkumari Kirti Kala Devi
      • Rajkumari Purnima Devi
      • Rajkumar Devendra Pratap Singh
      • Rajkumar Yogendra Pratap Singh
      • Rajkumari Jaimala Devi
  • Raja Bahadur LALIT KUMAR SINGH, 4th Raja of Raigarh 1947/2000, M.L.A. (Madhya Pradesh) for two terms, married 1stly, Rani Mangal Moti Devi, married 2ndly, Rani Shakuntla Devi, and had issue. He died O ctober 2000.
    • Raja Bahadur Vikram Bahadur Singh (by Rani Mangal Moti Devi) (qv)
    • Maharaj Shri Surendra Kumar Singh (by Rani Mangal Moti Devi)
    • Maharaj Shri Devendra Kumar Singh (by Rani Mangal Moti Devi)
    • Rajkumari Shri Pushpa Devi (by Rani Mangal Moti Devi)
    • Manoj Kumar Singh (by Rani Shakuntla Devi)
      • Dushyant Singh
      • Shweta Singh
      • Vishal Singh
    • Roopkamal Devi (by Rani Shakuntla Devi)
    • Sandeep Kumar Singh (by Rani Shakuntla Devi)
      • Rahul Singh
      • Gourav Singh
  • Raja Bahadur VIKRAM BAHADUR SINGH, 5th Raja of Raigarh (see above)
    • Vishal Bahadur Singh (qv)
  • Raja Bahadur VISHAL BAHADUR SINGH, 6th Raja of Raigarh (see above)
  • Rajkumar Shri Bhanu Pratap Singh of Raigarh, educated at Rajkumar College, Raipur; M.L.A. (Madhya Pradesh), Minister in the Madhya Pradesh Government.
Back to top



Back to top

Edit page contents

Edit Info Add Pictures Add Contact Add article